Sin and Natural Disaster.

20 01 2010

Disclaimer: My personal thoughts… not related to conversations or thought from anyone else at LCPC. Although, like always, I really hope I’m in line with theology of my church when I share these thoughts. Pretty sure that I am.


In a CNN article about this morning’s aftershock in Haiti, I read: 
“Patients at a hospital near Haiti’s airport in Port-au-Prince immediately started praying as the ground shook like a ship rocking back and forth. They asked for forgiveness and protection, a nurse said”. 


Made me think. I know it is a cultural religious thing for Haitians (aside from Pat Robertson’s heartless remarks)  but it is hard for me to grasp that anyone believes they are being punished by earthquakes because of their actions/beliefs or lack thereof.


I know that people can believe something happened in their life for a reason – because they needed to learn a lesson or get a serious nudge to move in another direction. And I know that in the biblical Old Testament God caused things like a flood and other natural disasters to cleanse the world of sin…. but then he gave us Jesus to die, conquer death through resurrection and cleanse the world of sin. 


So one man suffered and died for our salvation, you have to believe it but that’s it and there won’t be earthquakes, hurricanes, tsunamis, hailstorms, floods, famines, and fires because you sinned or didn’t believe in God. 
Any pacts made with the devil in the past by your parents and grandparents are forever erased. You just won’t know the grace and love in life now and you won’t be with Jesus/God in the afterlife — that comes from a relationship with Jesus, a reconnection with God the creator of our lives.


I guess if it takes an earthquake for someone to reconnect then so be it… but please don’t think the earthquake is because you haven’t believed in God. Kind of selfish actually, isn’t it? Makes me sad that people can be so hard on themselves.


Just my two cents. 🙂



Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

