Now I Lay Down to Sleep

19 02 2012

…but not soon enough! Our kiddos get to bed SO late, in my mind, and it internally drives me crazy. And I think I need to just let go of it. Let go of worrying about and wishing I were better at getting them to bed “on time”. What even is an on time bed time for a child these days.

It was easy when they were babies and toddlers.  To sleep by 7:30 p.m., of course they woke up a time or two through the night and way too early in the a.m. for this night owl momma. also, I clung long and hard Weissbluth’s  “Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child”. Which worked at the time.

Working with children, teens, and their families through church ministry exposes you to all sorts of parenting scenarios – so in your mind you can pick and choose what you’ll use and avoid when it comes to your own children. Unfortunately, it’s not a simply “copy and paste” method of parenting.

I remember hearing how late some children went to bed on school nights and woke up in the mornings and seeing them exhausted through the day. MY children were not going to be those children they were going to get sleep. Except, more and more, they are. Now that Ellie is in elementary school with homework that must be completed, and we have them in occasional classes for swimming and weekly piano lessons. Doug and I both work full-time and mine work is ‘flexibly’ packed in between school hours, homework, and bed times. Plus the normal household duties and interactions … How do those become the “plus…” items in our week?

I discovered in college that I was so stinking exhausted because I never learned healthy sleep habits as a child. My single parent mother did what she could and yet we went to bed late and woke up early and I probably rarely slept through the night. I think I’m paranoid of this for my kids, but maybe if I let go and trust that we are doing our best with them and ourselves it will all work out in the end. I think I have to trust that it will and not kill myself with the unneeded stress.

 

Don’t fret or worry. Instead of worrying, pray. Let petitions and praises shape your worries into prayers, letting God know your concerns.” (Philippians 4:6 Message Bible)

Actions

Information

One response

24 02 2012
:-jon

Ditto for our house… childrens were still having their slumber party at 10pm tonight, even though we had lights out a bit before 9pm.

Like

Leave a Reply

